Sunday, October 22, 2017

Hazelnuts

5"x7"
click here to purchase

I grew them! And they're delicious! Well, the ones I already ate are delicious. I really had to save some to paint, they're just beautiful shapes.

Saturday, October 21, 2017

All in Pink

11"x14"
click here to purchase

Gorgeous, gorgeous young deer. In a wig. And dress. And flowers. Of course.

Tuesday, October 17, 2017

Streamlined

5"x7"
click here to purchase

I liked the shadow under the turtle so much I decided to try it with something a little more.... shadowy.

Monday, October 16, 2017

Flight II

5"x7"
click here to purchase

My daily paintings are really my safe space. Little experiments. I wonder how it would look if there was a shadow in the water? How simply can I say "fish" so it doesn't detract from the turtle? How on EARTH do I make the shape of the shell read correctly?

Sunday, October 15, 2017

Wolfsbane

5"x7"
click here to purchase

This gorgeous thing is in bloom at the NC Botanical Gardens and I'm in love! Unfortunately I've been unsuccessful with starting wolfsbane from seed for three years running, and can't find any plants....

Saturday, October 14, 2017

Wednesday, October 11, 2017

Resting

5"x7"
click here to purchase

Another little shorebird, holding still for a moment in the fading light with one leg neatly tucked up beneath her.

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Bubbly

11"x14"
click here to purchase

A few of my favorite things about my robot goldfish, all rolled into one glorious robot goldfish. Anglerfish. Steampunk exploration thingamabob.

Monday, October 9, 2017

Crescent

5"x7"
sold

Oh this one came out with so much emotion. I'm wanting to do it again, but much larger!

Saturday, October 7, 2017

Friday, October 6, 2017

Porcelain

5"x7"
click here to purchase

A creepy doll. Because the art group I'm in is doing a prompt for October and that was today's and I figured I'd paint this thing my daughter found.... and let me tell you, lace is HARD to paint!

Thursday, October 5, 2017

Just After Sunset

5"x7"
click here to purchase

Pretty much a color study, trying to create atmosphere and distance on such a tiny little canvas.... and then getting distracted by clouds, of course.

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Oceangoer

5"x7"
click here to purchase

Another beautiful sea turtle. It's a crazy thing, something so wonderfully solid being able to fly, basically, so graceful in the water....

Shorebird

5"x7"
click here to purchase

I loved the little daily painting Wet Sand, and wanted to try something similar... I experimented a bit more with the colors on this one though! I wish I'd seen a pelican on the beach too, they are fascinating birds, but I don't think they come down on the sand like my beloved little shorebirds.

Sunday, October 1, 2017

Pumpkin on Blue

5"x7"
click here to purchase

The Strange Dreams Art Group is doing an October challenge and today's theme was pumpkins- I went out on the front porch and picked the strangest of those we'd harvested from the back yard!

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Translucent

11"x14"
sold

Curves and light, antique bottles lined up on a windowsill and jellyfish slowly and gracefully swimming past. Worlds coming together.

WIP of Translucent


Friday, September 29, 2017

Orange Swirl

5"x7"
sold

I saw the beautiful orange interior of this shell while walking on the beach, and chased through the waves to scoop it up. Just lovely.

Thursday, September 28, 2017

Vikings

16"x20"
commissioned portrait, private collection

So someone who loves my whimsical pet portraits wanted to commission one..... of her husband holding their chihuahua and both of them as vikings! This one was so much fun to work on, you can't look at it without giggling. And the textures were a wonderful challenge.

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Reflections

5"x7"
sold

Pretty little fishy, playing with brushstrokes. Edges are so important....

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Streetlight

5"x7"
sold

Sunset, just as the streetlights come on and with beautiful clouds streaking across the sky.

Monday, September 25, 2017

Inside Curves

5"x7"
sold

A beautiful shell I brought back from the ocean. I really wanted to play up the smooth weight of it, and that wonderful pale glow.

Sunday, September 24, 2017

Flight

5"x7"
sold

My first attempt at painting a sea turtle.... they're wonderful, amazing animals that mean so much to me, but somehow I believe this is the first time I've painted one. I got so much inspiration from our beach trip.

Saturday, September 23, 2017

Wet Sand

5"x7"
sold

This one took a long time, but was worth it! A little shorebird at sunset.

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Storm on the Marsh

5"x7"
click here to purchase

Ah, the endless challenge of landscapes. Especially absurdly tiny daily painting ones. I just had to paint it though, a band of thunderstorms from the hurricane coming through, the light making chartreuse streaks across the reeds in the marsh and the greys of the sky turned silver in the water.

Monday, September 18, 2017

Broken Shell

5"x7"
click here to purchase

An absolutely gorgeous broken whelk shell I found on the beach recently and just had to paint.

Sunday, September 17, 2017

Unicorn Skull and Cherry

16"x20"
sold

Another mythical still life. This one is wonderful in person, it didn't come together until I used the ancient red copy of Virgil in place of the unicorn's lower jaw, the red of that and the red of the cherry, and the pinks in the giant barnacles....

Friday, September 15, 2017

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Wood Bison

A different sort of project for me, I can't wait to share how it all comes together!

Monday, September 11, 2017

monoprinting again!

AUGH. This one was gorgeous before I tried the printing bit, and then said printing bit just ruined the delicate expressive bits on the little fox.... ah, well. Learning is a good thing!

Sunday, September 10, 2017

my first attempt at a monoprint

..... also weird. But the quality of it is unlike anything I can get with just brushing paint onto canvas, which is interesting. Maybe it has a future as part of layering..... I dunno. More experimentation is required, which you, my blog peoples, will be subject to!

Saturday, September 9, 2017

Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Tuesday, September 5, 2017

Bird Whistle

5"x7"
click here to purchase

A lovely little bird whistle sculpture from Mexico, again posing on my cigar boxes!

Monday, September 4, 2017

Figurine and Marble

5"x7"
click here to purchase

A little rooster figuring I found at the Scrap Exchange, and a favorite marble. Shiny things on old cigar boxes.

Sunday, September 3, 2017

Pony and Pasture

5"x7"
sold

Something fluffy for today's little daily painting. I'm trying to figure out how to paint trees in the landscape.

Saturday, September 2, 2017

The Black Rooster and The Bottle Tree

11"x14"
sold

A bottle tree and a rooster for protection, hollyhocks to attract benevolent spirits..... and a diving helmet because I'm me!

Friday, September 1, 2017

Souls

11"x14"
sold

This is a Superstitions themed auction..... did you know owls can carry off souls?

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Mother's Purple Dress

11"x14"
click here to purchase

This is my daughter, wearing a silky purple dress made for me long long ago by my grandmother!

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Droplets

5"x7"
sold

I'm auctioning these off and donating the proceeds to victims of Hurricane Harvey.