Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Doodling for Whimsical Women!

sorry I've been gone for a few days.... aren't these cute? they'll be at the Whimsical Women Art Festival in Chapel Hill NC at the Village Green at Souther Village on Saturday (the 4th), from 10 am to 3 pm.... come out and see me!

Saturday, April 27, 2013


for Whimsical Women in Chapel Hill.... a week from today. Geez, where does the time go? If I'm AWOL a lot over the next few weeks, please forgive me....

Friday, April 26, 2013

Tiny Sushi II


.... so I did another one, to go with it. Aren't they so cute together?

Tiny Sushi


Look what I found while getting ready for Whimsical Women! Yay!

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Glazed Monut


Om nom nom!

And now.... off to bed! We got a lot of gardening type stuff done today, and are all tuckered out.

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Swirled Donut


Monuts strikes again! They had a much cooler name for it though, Zebra something or other.... oh, well. It was delicious :)

Monday, April 22, 2013

Garlic and Shadow


And a proper daily again! I have missed doing these. And garlic is always so beautiful.

I just hope it warms back up again soon, I've been in a horrible mood ever since this cold front hit :-/

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Thursday, April 18, 2013

Swimming Among the Dandelions


There. A finished one! A goldfish swimming over a beautiful field of dandelions.... above, among.... ah, well, I'm a painter, definitely not a wordsmith!

Wednesday, April 17, 2013


hm.... this pic came out decidedly weird. but I'm having fun doing all these paintings of Naomi, and the backlighting is especially delightful!

Tuesday, April 16, 2013


all curled up.... I want to add bits of eggshell, like she just hatched, but I haven't figured out how to do that yet....

Monday, April 15, 2013



I really do love goldfish! This one was a lot of fun to paint.

Today was a great day, too! I planted soooo much in the yard- a bunch of kinds of tomatoes, a couple kinds of peppers, poppies, bee balm, nicotiana, chives, french tarragon, artichokes, sweet marjoram, sweet mace, a couple kinds of sunflowers.... springtime is so wonderful!

Everything is covered in pollen, the whole world smells of wisteria, and I got to paint a goldfish :)

Saturday, April 13, 2013

Swimming Away


Just keep swimming, just keep swimming, just keep swimming swimming swimming.....

Friday, April 12, 2013

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Mermaid Thoughts

private collection

My amazing, magical little girl again :)

Wednesday, April 10, 2013


private collection
Just delicious :) I have a couple of amazing friends who do fairy hair, and they dress up like fairies... well, steampunk fairies..... anyways, I fell in love with the whole corset and bustle thing!

Monday, April 8, 2013

The Golden Egg


My amazing, beautiful little girl :) I think this is very much in my little "magical realism" genre, don't you? The hoodie is *actually* green, and actually belongs to my baby sister, but Naomi was borrowing it and just looked so adorable. The grey just made sense to me, but so did the golden egg, so obviously my judgement is a little warped....

Sunday, April 7, 2013

Citronge Patron


Booze! Really, though, it is just a beautiful bottle and caught my eye this afternoon. Had to bring that little painting I "saw" to life!

Saturday, April 6, 2013

Friday, April 5, 2013

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Dandelion V


Happy little Dandelion! Spring is finally here, I think.... or will be tomorrow :)

Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Tuesday, April 2, 2013

Wild Thing

private collection

Kids are awesome. Especially when there's a motorcycle helmet and some goggles too :)

Monday, April 1, 2013


private collection

My lovely, amazing little muse, and a deer skull my mother found in the woods in Pennsylvania and brought back for me. I feel so blessed. And amazed by what all a painting can be! Something silly and playful but a little bit dark can also be about shamans and ancient history and growth all at the same time :)