Sunday, December 31, 2017

Sorolla Study I

9"x12"
sold

My goodness, I'd forgotten how much I love doing a study based off a wonderful painting! I received a gorgeous book on Sorolla recently and just HAD to do some hands on learning.

Saturday, December 30, 2017

Sunning

5"x7"
click here to purchase

Ok, last flamingo for a minute. This one HAD to get painted though, the shape of the wings and that attitude....

Friday, December 29, 2017

Thursday, December 28, 2017

Taking Flight

5"x7"
click here to purchase

The flamingos were wonderful when we went to the zoo! I think you're in for a few days of flamingo studies.

Ibis and Bubbles

9"x12"
click here to purchase

A gorgeous scarlet ibis I met in an aviary recently.

Tuesday, December 26, 2017

Ibis Sketch


Trying to work my way into another largish painting....

Monday, December 25, 2017

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Monday, December 18, 2017

Cycles

20"x20"
click here to purchase

At 20"x20", this is the largest painting I've done in ages, and certainly the first one to combine a unicorn skull, a chameleon, and a pitcher plant. And shiny things like marbles and silver, because it wouldn't be me without that sort of thing, right?

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Jellyfish

8"x8"
sold

Going with big juicy brushstrokes like yesterday, and exploring a jellyfish, since they seem to be showing up more and more in my paintings.

Friday, December 15, 2017

Thursday, December 14, 2017

Sprocket

An adorable little pet portrait for a friend, in a rather epic frame I found in a thrift shop!

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Glass

8"x8"
click here to purchase

I obtained this amazing solid glass sphere over the summer, and finally got around to painting it! Just wonderful....

Monday, December 11, 2017

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Saturday, December 9, 2017

The First Year

9"x12"
click here to purchase

A magical little portrait of one of my houseplants. I just got this pot for her, and am rather proud of the effect!

Friday, December 8, 2017

Coming Together

11"x14"
click here to purchase

the little creatures sweeping over the world.... I wanted to bring a little land creature in this time, show it's not just a drowned windowsill, but a fundamental change, like the animals are really existing according to new rules here.

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Dream Fox

5"x7"
sold

It was a little landscape but wasn't working and suddenly evolved into a dreamscape.

Wednesday, December 6, 2017

Bonfire

5"x7"
click here to purchase

A cold front is coming through today, and the smoke is hanging thick and low on the cleared fields.

Tuesday, December 5, 2017

From Mexico with Love

5"x7"
sold

I was working hard on commissions today, and rather at a loss as to what to paint for the blog.... when I noticed this just sitting off to my left, waiting patiently to be painted again. It's a tiny beautiful bowl from Mexico that I got at a wonderful local fair-trade place, the painting on the inside is lovely, and the way it's reflected through the marble caught my eye.

Sunday, December 3, 2017

Cherry and Shiny

5"x7"
sold

I wasn't sure what to paint today.... so of course, fruit and something shiny. You can see the blue screen of updating limbo reflected in the silver cup and the cherry!

Friday, December 1, 2017

Black Cat

9"x12"
sold

So I was at the Scrap Exchange and say this AWESOME bottle for a dollar and yes, absolutely had to bring it home and paint it. With a cat skull. Of course.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Night Flight

16"x20"
click here to purchase

Another big gorgeous bird painting! A barn owl this time, and a.... glowing butterfly? Yes, it was almost a goldfish but I decided to go with something a little more delicate and airborne.

Monday, November 27, 2017

The Pour

5"x7"
click here to purchase

Recently we went to the Liberty Arts Iron Pour in Central Park here in Durham, and it was unlike anything I've ever seen before! I expect the experience will be popping up in my paintings for a while....

Sunday, November 26, 2017

Turmeric

5"x7"
click here to purchase

Yesterday was one of my houseplants, today is one of the plants I just harvested from the front yard! And yes, it is that ridiculously yellow.

Saturday, November 25, 2017

Succulent

5"x7"
click here to purchase

I'm very grateful to be back to painting today! Feeling a bit rusty, but it'll wear off quickly.

Monday, November 20, 2017

Rooster and Crescent Moon

16"x20"
click here to purchase

This big magnificent critter has some serious presence, and it was so much fun working on him! The swirling grassy foreground is new for me too, and very gratifying.

Saturday, November 18, 2017

Friday, November 17, 2017

Morning

5"x7"
sold

Loose brushy awesomeness, and a spoon. I think I'm in love with the light on the coffee cup handle though.

Thursday, November 16, 2017

Wednesday, November 15, 2017

Pink Light

5"x7"
sold

Last little shorebird for a little while. Again. I love this theme. And the light on the little bidrie butt.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Feathers

5"x7"
sold

What is it with me and birds and fish? All those little intricacies...

Gull

5"x7"
click here to purchase

A rather extraordinary little sketch of a portrait of a seagull. Fun stuff.

Sunday, November 12, 2017

Saturday, November 11, 2017

Unexpected Rain

8"x10"
click here to purchase

This one turned out very different from my usual paintings, but I'm rather enjoying it. It took an illustration-ey turn once I started reworking it!

Rosebud

5"x7"
sold

There's going to be a hard frost tonight, so I decided to bring in the one rosebud from my poor confused rosebush, and pose it in this wonderful glass sphere!

Thursday, November 9, 2017

Creamer and Cherry II

5"x7"
sold

It seems the weather is affecting my painting! Still, it's a super wonderful fat little silver creamer.

Wednesday, November 8, 2017

Bubbles and Horns


sold

Because sometimes you quite like a painting but it's missing.... something.... oh, bubbles. Of course.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Goldfish Tea

8"x8"
sold

Gorgeous little things that just came home with me.... and a goldfish. Because of course a goldfish. Look how shiny that wonderful silver teapot is!

Monday, November 6, 2017

The Owl and the Bluebird

5"x7"
sold

A little cast iron owl, and a little glass bluebird. I just love the contrast.